Boredom and Butter


Two very dangerous thing, though when utilized correctly can be very productive, and yummy. While looking through our old Cook’s Illustrated magazines, I came across a recipe for sugar cookies. Well, the picture looked yummy and I made a mental note to make them sometime when I was bored. Tonight, I was bored. However, the recipe called for cream cheese and we were out of it. Instead, I hopped on the internet and found a new recipe. I looked at the picture and was saw that we had all of the ingredients and printed it out. But, when I looked in the refrigerator, I found out that the sour cream had not been opened yet and I knew that if I opened it, it would spoil. So, innovating a little, I substituted greek yogurt and about 1/2 tablespoon water for the sour cream.  I made some of the cookies with sprinkles on top and some with cinnamon sugar as snickerdoodles. They turned out wonderfully despite the change I made to the recipe. Now I have 4 dozen cookies sitting around waiting to fulfil their purpose in life. Wait, now there are 47…46…45, they really are good cookies.

~thchildcooks

Sugar Cookies from the Always with Butter blog

2 cups flour

1 teaspoons baking powder

1/2 teaspoon salt

1/4 teaspoon baking soda

1/2 cup butter

1 1/2 cups sugar

1 egg

1 teaspoon vanilla

1/4 cup sour cream or 1/4 cup greek yogurt and 1/2 tablespoon water

Cinnamon sugar or sprinkles  

Preheat oven to 350F and line cookie sheets with parchment paper. Whisk together the dry ingredients in a small bowl. In a separate, larger bowl cream the softened butter and sugar. Add the egg and vanilla, and mix until combined. alternating with the flour mixture then sour cream(or yogurt) add the remaining ingredients. Scoop onto baking sheet with a spoon of your size choice(I made 1/2 tablespoon sizes) leaving room for ample spreadage. Now is the time to add sprinkles or cinnamon sugar. Bake for 12 to 15 minutes removing from the oven when lightly browned. Cool on wire racks and consume.

Leave a comment

Filed under Cookies, Sweet

Leave a Reply

