Shakepeare and Banana Cake


Got you attention didn’t I? Well, if the title didn’t, I hope that these recipes will. On Wednesday(I know, I know, long time ago) I made Crusty Dinner Rolls out of my 4-H book for a Shakespearean festival at school. I was to do a small bit of research on foods during the Elizabethan time period and found that bread was a major part of their diet. So, I decided to kill two birds with one stone: make a recipe for 4-H, then use it for school. The rolls turned out great, but be warned the recipe does make a lot if use make the recommended size.

 Saturday, I once again discovered some almost black bananas on the counter and instead of banana bread, I made banana cake. The recipe calls for a 13×9 pan, but I used a 9 inch and 18 muffin tin cups and that filled it up. The muffins(cupcakes?) rounded out beautifully and are delightfully moist. Definite make again recipe.

One last subject; I have two cartons of just whites egg whites. If anyone has and suggestions, please do tell! I need to use them up soon. Thanks and have a great week.

~thechildcooks

Crisp Dinner Rolls

2 1/2 cups warm water

2 packages active dry yeast

1 tablespoon sugar

1 tablespoon salt

2 tablespoons margarine, softened

6 1/2 to 7 1/2 cups flour

1 egg, beaten

1 tablespoon milk

Measure warm water into a large warm bowl. Sprinkle in yeast, stir until dissolved. Add the sugar, salt, margarine and three cups of flour, bead until smooth. Add enough flour to make a stiff dough. Turn out onto a lightly floured boars and knead until smooth. Place in a greased bowl and let rise for 1 hour, or until doubled.

Punch down dough, divide in half, Divide each half into 18 equal pieces. Shape each into rolls and let rise until doubled. Combine egg and milk; brush this mixture on the tops of the rolls. Bake at 400F for about 15 minutes. Remove from sheets and cool on wire racks.

Leave a comment

Filed under 4-H, Cake, Sweet, Yeast Bread

Leave a Reply

