Incognito: English Muffins Disguised as Bread


After looking through my Yeast Breads on the Rise 4-H project book, I decided that this morning I would make English Muffin Bread. English Muffin Bread is a batter bread, which means that you do not knead the bread, but instead stir together a loose dough. The recipe is quite simple to follow and the process would be a good first attempt at making bread for someone who has not baked before. However, I did find one slight flaw with the recipe as written: the instructions call for two 8×4 pans and after looking at the amount of batter I had, I opted to put it in two 9×5 pans. I am glad I did, because after the second rise, if I had put the bread into the 8×4 pans, it most likely would have overflowed.

Last night, after many requests by my mother, I made a batch on Snickerdoodle Blondies. Since we had some brown bananas sitting on the counter, I split the recipe between two pans and added a banana filling to one of them(similar in method to my Apple Pie Blondies). Both pans turned out nicely and after tasting, the banana version was approved. I am really beginning to enjoy using the Snickerdoodle Blondie recipe as a base for more exotic bars. Have a super Saturday and I hope you can get into the kitchen to bake, or do whatever you like doing!

~thechildcooks 

English Muffin Bread

5 cups flour

1 tablespoon sugar

2 teaspoons salt

2 packages active dry yeast

1/2 cup warm water

2 1/2 cups milk

1/4 teaspoon baking soda( I used baking powder by accident, don’t be like me!)

1 tablespoon water

In large mixing bowl, combine 3 cups of flour, sugar and salt. Dissolve yeast in 1/2 cup warm water. Heat milk until warm and combine with yeast. Add to the flour mixture. Beat until smooth. Stir in remaining flour to make dough stiff. Cover, let rise in warm place until doubled in size, about 1  hour. Dissolve baking soda in 1 tablespoon warm water. Stir down yeast batter, blend in soda mixture until well blended.

Divide batter between two greased 9×5 pans. Cover and let rise in warm place until double, about 45 minutes.

Bake in 350F oven for 40-50 minutes. Remove from pan and cool.

Banana Filling for Snickerdoodle Blondies(1/2 recipe)

2 medium bananas

1 teaspoon brown sugar

dash of cinnamon

Cook on medium low heat, while stirring and mashing bananas. Cook until emits a pleasant caramel smell and turns golden. Use a filling like in Apple Pie Blondies.

1 Comment

Filed under 4-H, Breads, Cookies, Sweet, Yeast Bread

One response to “Incognito: English Muffins Disguised as Bread

  1. Pingback: English Muffins | Suburbhomestead's Blog

Leave a Reply

