Starter-ing the New Year Off Right


First of all, Happy New Year! Secondly, I have begun a new baking task that will require me to pay attention to something. Something I have wanted to do for a reason completely unknown to me is make sourdough bread. I cannot recall ever even having a piece of the stuff. This will change in about a week, for yesterday I mixed up a simple sourdough starter. I used the basic Betty Crocker recipe found in my father’s handy-dandy 1970s era cookbook. I have not taken any pictures to post because it is not the most interesting thing to look at, but when I start making breads I will post those pictures.

Basic Sourdough Starter from Betty Crocker

 1 teaspoon active dry yeast

1/4 cup water, warmed to yeast package specifications

3/4 cup milk

1 cup all-purpose flour

Dissolve yeast in warm water in a 3-quart glass bowl. Stir in the milk. Stir in flour gradually and beat until smooth. Cover with a towel or cheesecloth; let stand in warm, draft-free place until starter begins to ferment, about 24 hours(surface will be bubbly). If the starter does not ferment after 24 hours, discard and begin again. If fermentation has begun, stir well; cover tightly with plastic wrap and return to warm, draft-free place. Let stand until foamy, 2-3 days.(This is as far as I have gotten, I will post the rest as I come to that point.)

Alright, now, after 2-3 day pour your starter into a 1-quart crock or glass jar.  Cover and store in the refridgerator. The starter is read to use when a clear liquid comes to the top.

1 Comment

Filed under Breads, Sourdough

One response to “Starter-ing the New Year Off Right

  1. Pingback: Sourdough Bread and Starlight Cupcakes | thechildcooks

Leave a Reply

