Cookies:Chocolate-Oatmeal Chewies


I made cookies tonight and the lucky recipe was chocolate-oatmeal chewies. They are supposedly very good, but I would not know as I sadly do not enjoy chocolate. As I had to get ready for school, my mother got the last batch out of the oven and was freaked out. I forgot to tell her that I put some of the marshmallow scraps in; they had turned the cookies black(Halloween marshmallows) and oozed all over. They looked like someone had doused them in lighter fluid and then light a match. They still tasted good despite their roadkill apperearance. I will try to get pictures on later.The recipe is from the Betty Crocker Cookie Book.

Chocolate-Oatmeal Chewies

Makes App. 4 Dozen Cookies

1 1/2 cups sugar

1 cup butter, softened

1/4 cup milk

1 egg

2 2/3 cup quick cooking or old-fashioned oats

1 cup all-purpose flour

1/2 cup baking cocoa

1/2 teaspoon salt

1/2 teaspoon baking soda

Heat oven to 350F. Beat sugar, butter, milk and egg in a large bowl with an electric mixer on medium speed or a spoon. Stir in remaining ingredients.

Drop by rounded teaspoonful about 2 s apart onto an ungreased cookie sheet. Bake for 10-12(more like 13 or 14 for me, but it could be my oven) or until no indentation remains when touched in center. Cool 1-2 minutes; remove from cookie sheet to wire rack. Enjoy!

Leave a comment

Filed under Sweet

Leave a Reply

